actpolew.blogg.se

World war 2 navy veteran cap
World war 2 navy veteran cap




world war 2 navy veteran cap

Possessing that information, I knew that I had to collect some chief petty officer uniforms as well as some difficult to find warrant officer items. In 1944, he was promoted again to Radio Electrician, Warrant Officer (grade W-1).

world war 2 navy veteran cap

He was meritoriously promoted to chief petty officer (CPO) for his efforts supporting the commander of Task Force 16 during the Battle of Midway. His specialty was in intelligence and he had been with Joe Rochefort, having attended the Navy’s highly secretive and fledgling cryptologic school in the 1930s. By 1941, he had advanced to first class petty officer radioman. My uncle enlisted in 1932 and remained on active duty throughout World War II. For this article, I am going to cover one aspect of the assembled group : headwear. You’ll have to take my word that this is a lengthy undertaking, considering that most of my subjects are long-deceased, requiring interaction with the National Archives and a lot of lag time waiting for the requested service records and materials.Īs I began assembling a representative group portraying my uncle’s service in the United States Navy, I soon realized that I would have to collect several uniforms as he went from an Apprentice Seaman to a Chief Warrant Officer during his thirty years of service. One of the products of my research will ultimately be a hardbound, four-color book complete with original photographs of these veterans and displays of their uniforms and artifacts. My military collecting focuses almost entirely on documenting my family’s service with both a narrative and visual materials.






World war 2 navy veteran cap